Prom 24
  Performance Date:     Seat Amount:    
Triumphant horns and a flirtatious, vivacious solo violin set the tone for Strauss's vivid autobiographical tone-poem Ein Heldenleben - 'A Hero's Life', outwardly inspired by 'an ideal of great and manly heroism'.

The orchestra is also at the forefront in Dvorak's Cello Concerto, sounding as an equal partner to the soloist - German cellist Daniel Müller-Schott, who returns to the Proms under tonight's debut conductor Otto Tausk - in an intensely personal work that marries a pervasive sense of longing with real passion.

In the centenary year of British women gaining the right to vote, Ethel Smyth's evocative Act 2 Prelude from The Wreckers celebrates a key British composer who, as a suffragette, spent two months in Holloway Prison.

The Wreckers - On the Cliffs of Cornwall (Prelude to Act 2) 8'
Cello Concerto in B minor 42'


Ein Heldenleben 45'
Daniel Muller-Schott cello
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Otto Tausk conductor

No reviews to

No news to

No images to
Type of production: Concert

Opened: 01 August 2018

Booking until: 01 August 2018

Running time: 2 Hour 20 Mins

Prices: £17.00 - £55.00