Prom 21
  Performance Date:     Seat Amount:    
A concert of sonic scope and spectacle from the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and its Principal Guest Conductor Ilan Volkov climaxes in Strauss's dramatic An Alpine Symphony, which paints a vivid picture of a day's hiking in the Bavarian mountains.

The Alps also make their way into Georg Friedrich Haas's Concerto grosso in the form of four alphorns - enormous wooden horns, whose other-worldly overtones also inspired Rossini and Berlioz.

The concert opens with Mozart's Notturno, an unfinished Salzburg carnival serenade, whose four separate instrumental groups will be dispersed around the Royal Albert Hall for maximum acoustic drama.

Notturno in D major, K286 17'
Georg Friedrich Haas
Concerto grosso No. 1 30'
UK premiere


An Alpine Symphony 50'
Hornroh Modern Alphorn Quartet
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Ilan Volkov conductor

No reviews to

No news to

No images to
Type of production: Concert

Opened: 30 July 2018

Booking until: 30 July 2018

Running time: 2 Hours 15 Mins

Prices: £17.00 - £55.00