Prom 05
The BBC National Orchestra of Wales makes its first Proms appearance of the season, with Principal Conductor Thomas Søndergard, in a programme of big themes and even bigger melodies.

Sibelius's single-movement Seventh Symphony compresses all the intensity of a conventional symphony into around 20 minutes. That intensity only builds with the tempestuous extremes of Rachmaninov's Second Piano Concerto, the first in our cycle of the composer's complete piano concertos, and the visceral rage of Shostakovich's Symphony No. 10, a horrifying portrait of life in Stalin's Russia.

Brilliant young Uzbek pianist Behzod Abduraimov, who made an exciting Proms debut in Rachmaninov's Third Piano Concerto last year, returns as soloist.

Symphony No. 7 in C major 21'
Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor 33'


Symphony No. 10 in E minor 57'
Behzod Abduraimov piano
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Thomas Sondergard conductor

No reviews to

No news to

No images to
Type of production: Concert

Opened: 17 July 2017

Booking until: 17 July 2017

Running time: 2 Hours 35 Mins

Prices: £26.00 - £52.00